WOLA: Advocacy for Human Rights in the Americas
25 Apr 2013 | News

WOLA’s 2014 Human Rights Award Ceremony and Benefit Gala

About the WOLA Human Rights Awards

Every year, WOLA honors organizations or individuals who have worked tirelessly to promote human rights, democracy, and social justice in Latin America. Our awardees are organizations or individuals who exemplify a commitment to WOLA’s vision for the future, where human rights and social justice are the foundation for public policy.

About the 2014 WOLA Human Rights Awards Recipients

Congressman George Miller (D-CA), a leading advocate in Congress on education, labor, and human rights around the world. Since he was first elected to Congress four decades ago, his courage and strategic vision have been at the forefront of the work for human rights in the Americas. From the days when he was a leader in efforts to end U.S. military aid to repressive regimes in the 1970s and 1980s to his vocal support for labor rights in Colombia today, he has been steadfast  in his commitment to human rights and social justice. To listen to Congressman Miller's acceptance speech, please click here.


Dr. Claudia Paz y Paz, Guatemala’s first female Attorney General, who made significant strides in the prosecution of organized crime and corruption during her nearly three-and-a-half years in office. Dr. Paz y Paz brought to justice prominent human rights abusers from Guatemala’s civil war period, most notably leading the team that assembled the case against former Guatemalan dictator Efraín Ríos Montt. A crusader for justice, the rule of law, and human rights, Dr. Paz y Paz was a 2013 nominee for the Nobel Peace Prize. WOLA honors her with its Human Rights Award for her unfailing pursuit of justice and accountability. To listen to Dr. Paz y Paz's acceptance speech, please click here.

 Honorary Committee

Former Rep. David Bonior
Rep. John Conyers (D-MI)
Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
Sen. Christopher Dodd
Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN)
Rep. Eliot Engel (D-NY)
Rep. Sam Farr (D-CA)
Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)
Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA)
Rep. Mike Honda (D-CA)
Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA)
Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
Rep. Sander Levin (D-MI)
Rep. John Lewis (D-GA)
Rep. James McGovern (D-MA)
Rep. Jim Moran (D-VA)
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)
Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)
Former U.S. Sec. of Labor Hilda Solis
Sen. John Tester (D-MT)

Host Committee

Francisco Altschul & Melinda DeLashmutt Altschul
Amb. Shirley Barnes, Barnes Findley Foundation
Darryl Chappell, Freddie Mac
John Coatsworth, Columbia University
Marino Cordoba, AFRODES
Fr. Charlie Currie, Jesuit Commons
Heather Foote, Former WOLA Director
Louis Goodman, American University, School of International Service
Scott Greathead, Wiggin & Dana LLP
Claudio Grossman, American University, Washington College of Law
Peggy Healy, Covenant House International
Mario Hernandez, Western Union
Joyce Hill, WOLA Co-Founder
Edgar James, James & Hoffman
Helen Mack, Myrna Mack Foundation
Paul Reichler, Foley Hoag LLP
Amb. Milton Romani, Permanent Mission of Uruguay to the OAS
Mary Ann Stein, The Moriah Fund
Bill Wipfler, WOLA Co-Founder

To learn about past WOLA Human Rights Awards Recipients, please click here.

*VIP Reception is a benefit of sponsorship. Not included with ticket purchase.