WOLA: Advocacy for Human Rights in the Americas

2019 WOLA Human Rights Awards Ceremony and Benefit Gala

2019 Honorees

Efecto Cocuyo

For their vital coverage of Venezuela in crisis and their courageous defense of democracy

 Rep. Norma Torres

For her visionary leadership in Congress on behalf of human rights and justice in Central America

2019 Co-Chairs

Edgar James & Katherine Kinsella

Mary Kay Henry, SEIU President

2019 Featured Speakers

Patrick Gaspard, OSF President

Rep. Jim McGovern


Every year, WOLA honors organizations or individuals who have worked tirelessly to promote human rights, democracy, and justice in Latin America. Our awardees are organizations or individuals who exemplify a commitment to WOLA’s vision for the future, where human rights and social justice are the foundation for public policy.

WOLA’s 2019 Human Rights Awards and Benefit Gala takes place at a time of monumental threats to human rights in the Americas. Now more than ever, it is critical to focus on the commitment and courage of those fighting for social justice.

Join us as we honor courage, commitment, and community in human rights. Become an event sponsor. Click here to learn more. 

To learn about past WOLA Human Rights Award Recipients, please click here.